Ambivalent Pumpkin Bread

Standard

Today I made vegan pumpkin bread, adapted from Hell Yeah it’s Vegan! It was both the first time I’ve made a vegan recipe and the first time I’ve used pumpkin as an ingredient. Yay for firsts!

005

The most significant change I made was to substitute in honey for the original’s maple syrup. I’m not sure how much of an impact this actually had, but the results of this recipe were ambivalent. The bread is very slightly sweet, which is partially why I picked it – in contrast to almost every other recipe I looked up, this called for only 1 cup of sugar instead of 3. It’s also decently moist and has a nice, almost sponge-cake texture. But it isn’t pretty. I don’t have a loaf pan and so had to make do with my normal baking pan. This is fine for the only other bread in my repertoire, banana bread, since that batter is much runnier and even though it’s also technically supposed to be made in a loaf pan, it fills out my baking pan in all the right ways. The pumpkin bread in contrast has a very thick batter, and came out terribly lumpy. I cut most of it into somewhat-aesthetic squares, but I still won’t be serving it to company. In a loaf pan though, it’d be great. I think it would also be good with about 1/2 cup more sugar, but if you’re not in the mood for a sweet bread, it’s good as is. The original recipe calls for walnuts or pumpkin seeds for flourish, of which I had neither. I sprinkled slivered almonds on half of the batter before popping it into the oven instead, and they add a nice bit of crunch. Overall, a decent, if not impressive pumpkin bread.

Ingredients
  • 1 c flour
  • ¾ c whole wheat flour
  • 1 c dark brown sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp salt, nutmeg, cinammon, allspice, cloves
  • 1 c pumpkin purée
  • ½ c oil
  • 3 Tbsp honey
  • 3 Tbsp water
  • almonds (or walnuts, pumpkin seeds, etc)
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. Spray a loaf pan w/ non-stick spray such as Pam. (Really, use a loaf pan!)
  3. In a large bowl, mix together flours, sugar, soda, baking powder, salt, and spices.
  4. In a small bowl, whisk together pumpkin, oil, syrup, and water.
  5. Add wet mixture to dry; combine until just moistened. The batter will be very thick; don’t worry!
  6. Pour into prepared pan and bake 45 minutes in a loaf pan or, if you only have a baking pan like me, 25 minutes until top is browned and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
Leave a Reply

